In the context of social media, you must acknowledge that Instagram is a virtual platform where more than a million pieces of content are uploaded every day. Instagram is the top social media connector because it has attractive features and stunning visuals. But sometimes, we get bored and think about how to temporarily disable Instagram.

If you need a short social media detox, it is a fair idea to deactivate your Instagram account and get engaged with some other activities. If you want to permanently delete your account, I will recommend you deactivate it temporarily. Later, you will restart a fresh journey. You will get a clear idea about the deactivation process in this article.

 

Deactivate your Instagram account

Once you delete an Instagram account, it is permanent and final. So Instagram has an option of temporary deactivation so that you can restore your account. In that case, your content will be intact. So, do you want to learn how to temporarily disable Instagram?

Deactivating an Instagram account is straightforward, but you can not do that from the Instagram app. You need to log in to your Instagram account from the desktop. So you should have all the login details before proceeding. The whole procedure is given below:

 

  • Open the default browser from your desktop or laptop and go to the Instagram website.
  • Enter the login information to open your account.
  • Look at the top right corner and tap on your display picture.
  • Click the edit profile button and scroll down to temporarily disable my account option.
  • Choose the reason when asked why you are interested in deactivating your account.
  • In the end, re-enter your Instagram password and click Temporarily disable my account
  • It will hide all your photos, videos, and followers from the audience. You can reactivate your account anytime.

 

How To Temporarily Disable Instagram

How long can you disable your account?

If you want, you can deactivate your Instagram account for a long time. You will need to log in again when you wish to reactivate your Instagram. But now, Instagram has a restriction. You cannot keep the account temporarily deactivated for more than a week. So, if you want to deactivate the Instagram account for a long time, you will need to deactivate it again after a week.

 Do you lose your followers?

If you keep your Instagram account temporarily disabled, you have no chance of losing followers and content. Because Instagram stores all your data and then deactivates the account. After deactivating your account, it will disappear from all places on Instagram. None of your followers will see your account when it is deactivated, and anyone who wants to unfollow will not be able to do so.

How To Temporarily Disable Instagram

What happens when you disable your Instagram account?

When you take a break from Instagram, you have to decide whether you desire to keep it temporarily disabled or delete it permanently. If you already know how to temporarily disable Instagram, you can follow it to deactivate the account. On the other hand, if you delete your account, it will not be restored.

Account deactivation and disabling are not the same. When you deactivate your Instagram account, all your Instagram content will remain as it is. When you reactivate the account, you will automatically get the content back. The content of the profile is stored in Instagram’s database.

 

How could you delete your account?

  • Open any desktop browser from your computer
  • ‘Delete your account page’. Will come to the screen
  • You have to put in the login details and open the account.
  • Select an option and put the password again
  • Click Permanently Delete My Account

 

Conclusion

People sometimes become overly dependent on the internet and forget about spending quality time with their family and friends. So we need to take a break from social media platforms. Spending time with yourself as well as some meditation and light exercise releases our stress. It restores our lost energy. By reading this article, you have learned how to temporarily disable Instagram.

In addition, after enabling the account, if you think you need more likes to show your content, you can rely on the best social media provider website. Here, you can buy likes, followers, and views for any social media platform.